Pesto, in general, as well as green garlic and chard pesto

Image

Pesto was always a very specific thing for me growing up.  Primarily basil, it always went with pasta, and  it usually came from a jar.  This is the first time I’ve ever made pesto, and it was so insanely easy. I think it’s a great way to do something with any abundance of greens.  Almost neon, it’s spreadable summer.  I didn’t follow a recipe, but I don’t think you need one.  All you need is something that will turn your solids into a semi liquid.  I left my mini food processor at my last apartment, so I just used my little smoothie blender.  It was a bit of a fight, but it worked.  Green garlic is great because it has this nice mellow flavor that still lets the flavor of another green shine through.

You can make pesto with just about anything that’s green.  Toasted nuts, vinegar, lemon juice, and salt are good things to add.  Or something else.  Just whip it up.

Green Garlic and Chard Pesto

Chop a few pieces of green garlic, both the bulb and any green part of the stalk that’s not rough and papery.  Place in your death chop machine. Add half a bunch of torn chard, stems removed, and good amount of freshly grated Parmesan cheese.  Add enough olive oil for it to all move around and blend into a nice paste.

Image

My friend and I made a big salad with my csa, mixed the pesto into pasta and fresh chopped tomatoes, and spread the green goodness all over some french bread.  It made for a great, lazy dinner on Sunday afternoon.

One comment

Leave a Reply

