My first CSA – notes from the beginning of the season

Farm fresh produce is widely available in my area- I know that’s not the case for everyone, so I feel super lucky!  A co-worker proposed going halfsies on a CSA (community supported agriculture) farm share, and I jumped at the opportunity.  When you get a CSA you pay in advance for a season of weekly shares of the farm’s bounty- good or bad.  You’re allowing the farm to hire workers, buy seeds, and sustain themselves.  I think that’s an awesome way to go about things- and I really, really wanted to be challenged by a huge box of produce.  Even though I’m only getting my share every other week, it’s a lot of food for a single gal! I’ll be taking pictures of my shares and updating you on how I utilize all the herbs, roots, leaves, and fruits in my box.

My CSA is from Red Fire Farm in Granby, MA.  They’re an organic farm, and so far I’ve been blown away by the beautiful produce I’ve received.  They are also great about emailing updates, letting you know every week what you can expect in the box (how cool!) and happenings on the farm.  You can also go to the farm and pick your own things!  It’s a little bit of a trek for me to get to the farm, but I hope I can make it soon!

The First Share of the Season

Received June 8, 2012

Image

What I got: what I did with it

Green Garlic: Green Garlic and Chard Pesto

Broccoli: Blanched and added to pasta and green garlic pesto

Kale: Roasted Kale Salad

Hakurei Tunips:  These went bad in the back of my fridge!!

Cilantro: garnished everything with this

Purple Kohlrabi: pickled it

Spinach: Warm Spinach Salad with Bacon Dressing

Greens, Lettuces: SO MUCH SALAD

The oranges and chocolate are not from my CSA- they just like to have their picture taken!

Leave a Reply

