Pickled Kohlrabi

Kohlrabi was a completely foreign vegetable to me, until I received two  purple bulbs in my CSA.  They are wild looking, and a little intimidating!  I put them out of sight in my crisper for about a week until I knew I had to do something with them.  A crunchy vegetable, with a cabbagey taste and texture not unlike jicaima, a quick pickle seemed like a great option.  Pickling, yes pickling.  I had never pickled anything successfully before (there was the pickled daikon incident in college where the building staff had to install industrial grade air fresheners in the hallways), but it is too too easy.  If you can chop, measure, and boil you can make a quick pickle.  I’ve been munching on these straight out of the jar, but I think they’re going to find their way into my lunches this week.  Pickles are a fun thing to share, and I love opening my fridge when someone’s over and offering these as a crisp, light snack.

Pickled Kohlrabi adapted from Serious Eats

– I crammed as much as I could into my only free jar, but I still had some kohlrabi and brine left over. Sad story.  So I recommend using one big quart jar, or two smaller jars.  Props if you reuse your jars from jams and mustard.  These are quickles, so you aren’t doing any serious canning here- just use clean jars and eat these babies up in the next week (or two).

You Need

1 pound of kohlrabi (purple is pretty, and it will tint your pickles pink).  I used one of the bulbs in the picture above.

1 cup of water

1 cup apple cider vinegar

1 tbsp kosher salt

1 tbsp cane sugar

1/2 tsp peppercorns

pinch of red pepper flakes

Make It

Trim the stalks off the kohlrabi and wash ’em.  You don’t want to peel the whole thing, but you do want to cut off where the shoots come off so it’s sort of resembling a ball (however lopsided that ball might be)

Slice the bulb and cut it into sticks.  Place in a clean jar.

Put all the other ingredients into a saucepan and bring to a boil.  Take off heat and pour into jar and cover.  Leave on counter until they reach room temp, then refrigerate.  Eat whenever you want, with whatever you want.

2 comments

  1. Great idea! Come and link up this post at this week’s party…http://inherchucks.com/2012/06/27/whats-in-the-box-32/. Looking forward to seeing you there 🙂

  2. Yum! and good for you, my adventurous girl!

Leave a Reply

