Dark Chocolate Tart

I haven’t made any sort of sweet treat for a while, but this was the perfect recipe to get me back on the sugar wagon.  Also, in my quest to share more food, a chocolate tart is perfect- it’s so rich it has to be given away.  You’d have to be in a pretty sorry place to eat a whole chocolate tart by yourself.  I brought the pie/tart/whatever (after I took out a sliver to make sure it was edible) to my part time job as a late night snack.  I was actually nervous about what they would think- I’m crazy.  It’s a chocolate tart.  You can’t really eff that up.  They loved it!

Good dark chocolate is the workhorse in this recipe.  The sentiment sounds pretentious to me, but use the best stuff you can get your hands on-seriously.  Cheap chocolate full of fillers isn’t going to cut it here- you’ll be able to taste the difference.  I used a 70% chocolate that usually fits the bill for all my snacking and cooking needs.  The tart wasn’t too sweet (a win in  my book) but a 60% dark chocolate would probably satisfy a wider variety of tastes. If you go to Whole Foods, check out the specialty area near the coffee and cheese.  They have some great chocolate sold in bulk- look for big blocks wrapped in saran wrap or plastic containers full of chocolate chunks.  It’s usually a cheaper option than buying a couple of bars, and it’s the same chocolate or better.

The original recipe says to use a spring form pan, but I just used a good ol’ pie pan.  The recipe also calls for Nabisco Famous Wafers for the crust.  Why are they famous?  I have no idea, but they’re super dark and there are enough in the box that you’ll have a handful left to snack on.  Try with a bit of Specuolous and speck of salt.  Damn!   I spent almost 10 minutes staring down the cookie aisle trying to find them, but here’s a picture of the box so you would have to!

Dark Chocolate Tart adapted from Gourmet

-I didn’t follow the recipe.  I forgot half of the butter, and I guess you need to melt the butter for the crust.  But hey, it was good, so whatever.

Crust:

28 Famous Chocolate Wafers from Nabisco, finely crushed.  Use a food processor or toss them into a sturdy plastic bag and let your aggression out

6 Tablespoons of butter, cut into little chunks

Pie:

1/2  pound of awesome dark chocolate, chopped into small pieces. My chocolate had vanilla in it already.  If yours doesn’t, add about a teaspoon

1/4 cup of sugar

2 large eggs

1/3 cup of heavy cream

pinch of salt

Make the Crust:

Preheat the oven to 350 and lightly coat a pie pan with butter.

Mix these these the cookie crumbs and butter together, use your hands.  Press into pie pan, in the bottom and up along sides, about half way up.  Bake the crust for about 10 minutes.  You’ll be able to smell it- be careful that the sides (which are probably thinner) don’t burn.  Let the crust cool.  You can make this ahead too.

Make the pie:

Whisk the eggs, cream, sugar, and salt together.  In a glass bowl, slowly melt your chocolate in the microwave.  Do 30 second bursts and stir between zappings.  After chocolate has melted, let it cool for a few minutes.  Stir melted chocolate into egg mixture.   spread into cooled pie crust.  Bake at 350 for 20-22 minutes.  Pie should be a little wobbly in the middle.  Let it cool at room temp for an hour or two, then refrigerate for three hours or overnight before serving.

Eat.

Leave a comment